PMags.com http://www.pmags.com Practical advice and musings on the outdoors, hiking, backpacking, ski touring and camping. Thu, 26 May 2016 16:51:58 +0000 en-US hourly 1 https://wordpress.org/?v=4.5.2 Pecorino Romano cheese – fantastic hiking food http://www.pmags.com/pecorino-romano-cheese-fantastic-hiking-food http://www.pmags.com/pecorino-romano-cheese-fantastic-hiking-food#respond Thu, 26 May 2016 13:51:08 +0000 http://www.pmags.com/?p=11271 A tribute to an ancient food for traveling on foot that still works well today. ]]> http://www.pmags.com/pecorino-romano-cheese-fantastic-hiking-food/feed 0 Natural Bridges National Monument http://www.pmags.com/natural-bridges-national-monument http://www.pmags.com/natural-bridges-national-monument#comments Wed, 25 May 2016 18:41:43 +0000 http://www.pmags.com/?p=11267 A full day and a night in the Natural Bridges National Monument of Utah. ]]> http://www.pmags.com/natural-bridges-national-monument/feed 2 Into the Darkness – Dark Canyon, Utah http://www.pmags.com/into-the-darkness-dark-canyon-utah http://www.pmags.com/into-the-darkness-dark-canyon-utah#comments Wed, 25 May 2016 05:53:41 +0000 http://www.pmags.com/?p=11256 A backpacking trip into the upper Dark Canyon of Utah. ]]> http://www.pmags.com/into-the-darkness-dark-canyon-utah/feed 2 Utah bound… http://www.pmags.com/utah-bound http://www.pmags.com/utah-bound#respond Wed, 18 May 2016 06:05:03 +0000 http://www.pmags.com/?p=11231 Off to Utah for a few days. ]]> http://www.pmags.com/utah-bound/feed 0 Corporate sponsorship in the National Parks? http://www.pmags.com/corporate-sponsorship-in-the-national-parks http://www.pmags.com/corporate-sponsorship-in-the-national-parks#comments Tue, 17 May 2016 06:30:42 +0000 http://www.pmags.com/?p=11213 The National Park Service is actively courting corporate sponsorship. Is that good? ]]> http://www.pmags.com/corporate-sponsorship-in-the-national-parks/feed 10 Amazon Prime – Perfect for the outdoors person http://www.pmags.com/amazon-prime-perfect-for-the-outdoors-person http://www.pmags.com/amazon-prime-perfect-for-the-outdoors-person#comments Mon, 16 May 2016 15:58:07 +0000 http://www.pmags.com/?p=11189 Want to buy outdoor supplies and gear and not a lifestyle? Get an Amazon Prime account. ]]> http://www.pmags.com/amazon-prime-perfect-for-the-outdoors-person/feed 4 Change o’ plans http://www.pmags.com/change-o-plans http://www.pmags.com/change-o-plans#respond Fri, 13 May 2016 18:22:13 +0000 http://www.pmags.com/?p=11179 We can plan. But Ma Nature often decides what we end up doing for a backpacking trip. ]]> http://www.pmags.com/change-o-plans/feed 0 Walden Ponds – Bird Photography http://www.pmags.com/walden-ponds-bird-photography http://www.pmags.com/walden-ponds-bird-photography#comments Tue, 10 May 2016 04:55:49 +0000 http://www.pmags.com/?p=11163 Some birding and photography at a wildlife refuge in early spring. ]]> http://www.pmags.com/walden-ponds-bird-photography/feed 1 Hiking the Appalachian Trail – Rodale Press http://www.pmags.com/hiking-the-appalachian-trail-rodale-press http://www.pmags.com/hiking-the-appalachian-trail-rodale-press#comments Sat, 07 May 2016 03:52:02 +0000 http://www.pmags.com/?p=11107 An overview of a seminal two-volume set about the early years of the Appalachian Trail. A compendium of some of the first 46 people to travel this storied path. ]]> http://www.pmags.com/hiking-the-appalachian-trail-rodale-press/feed 3 Spring has arrived http://www.pmags.com/spring-has-arrived http://www.pmags.com/spring-has-arrived#respond Fri, 06 May 2016 02:56:38 +0000 http://www.pmags.com/?p=11140 I saw a Pasque flower. Spring is here. ]]> http://www.pmags.com/spring-has-arrived/feed 0